What’s New

Read about our latest updates and features.

Upload your own research

Uploadsession-1

We might be biased, but we believe Lookback is not only a great platform to capture Interviews and Usability Testing with your users, but also for sharing insights with colleagues and stakeholders using time-stamped notes, highlights and highlight reels.

However, there may be times when – for whatever reason – you're not able to conduct a research session in Lookback (e.g. Focus Groups). Previously you'd just have to keep those videos in a separate location and/or download your videos from Lookback and add them to that repository.

We're excited to announce that for the first time ever you can now upload non-Lookback recorded videos into our system! This allows you to collect all your research sessions in one place as well as leverage our notes, highlight reels, and other great features.

 

2022-07-01 14.19.45

 

For more information, please check out our Help Article on uploading videos to Lookback.

Editable Transcriptions ✏️

Editable_Transcripts-2

A.I. and machine learning are great, but they're not perfect. While our transcription feature (from AWS) is quite robust, sometimes it doesn't get everything quite right.

Well, now you can fix that with the introduction of editable transcriptions! Not only can you correct any mistakes but you can also link to transcription items or delete them, just as you would with notes and chats. 

User Interviews Integration 🤝

UIxLookback

We've had a long standing and good relationship with our friends over at User Interviews, which is a recruitment service. Now, we've taken it to the next level with a joint integration!

On the Lookback side the integration works mostly behind the scenes – you'll only see it as a small message in the modal where you find the participant link. On the User Interviews side recordings of sessions scheduled with their interface will also be accessible at their end. This removes the burden of the manual cross-referencing previously needed when using our two products separately.

You can read more about the integration on User Interview's site here or in our help article.

Preview Links & Preview Sessions

Previewbuttonlinks-1One of the most requested features from our trial and self-serve customers (Freelance, Team, & Insights Hub) has been the possibility to preview a session without using up any “real” sessions. Now, with Preview Links, you can try the participant experience without that session being counted. It's the same flow and has the same device and network requirements as a standard session. Preview Links can be accessed in the Round Editor, and they are used in the same way as a regular participant link, but the recording of a Preview Session will have some special limitations:

  • Limited to 1 minute of playback
  • Transcriptions of sessions are not available
  • Highlight creation is not possible


If later you want to convert a Preview Session to a regular session, that option is available. Once done, you’ll be able to watch the entire video in which case it would be counted against your session quota.

For full details, please see the Preview Links help article.

Easier to Find Team Members

Myorgmembers

If you have a lot of team members in your Lookback organization, it can sometimes be difficult to find them easily. We’ve made some changes to the UI to help with this:

  1. The default view, Everyone, has been switched to alphabetical sorting by first name.
  2. There’s now a drop-down that allows you to filter team members by role: Collaborators, Observers, or Suspended.
  3. The Owner of your Lookback organization is displayed at the top of the list (but won't be visible if the owner is you).

 

Choose a Default Role for New Members

Lookback organizations that use SAML/SSO (Single-sign on) have the option to choose a default role when new team members are added – Collaborator or Observer. The roles can always be changed later, if needed. We’ve made this change for two reasons:

  1. to ensure you don’t unintentionally use up all of your Collaborator licenses
  2. to ensure you don’t unintentionally restrict users’ access.

 The owner can change the default setting at any time in the SSO settings.

Links between Highlights and Original Sessions

HighlightLinks

Highlights are a great way to select snippets from your sessions and share with stakeholders. However, once added to the dashboard and/or used in Highlight reels, it can be difficult to remember which session the highlight was created from, especially in projects with a lot of sessions. Highlights now contain a link back to their original session, making it easier to determine where they came from. 

 

60 Day Trials 🎉

To give our trialers sufficient time to fully explore Lookback and all its possibilities, we've increased the duration of our free trial from 14 days to 60 days. 

New Pricing Plans

We used to have only two options for self-serve customers: Team (100 sessions) and Insights Hub (300 sessions). To accommodate for needs that our customers have made us aware of we've added subscription plans to increase flexibility and bridge some gaps:

  • Freelance (including 10, 20 or 40 sessions maximum/year)
  • Team with 150 sessions/year
  • Insights Hub with 500 sessions/year

You'll find all available subscription plans here and this article will help you find the plan that best fits your needs.